An informal group calling itself the Sleeping Squaw Historical Society was formed in 1975 with one goal to obtain ownership and preserve the School and Library that had served the community from 1901 until it's final school year in 1968. The name evolved to the Glen Haven Historical Society to reflect the current common geographic name for the area, the school's official name, and the heritage related to the original Glen Haven Hotel on the west side of Skaneateles Lake. A provisional Charter was issued by the State of New York in 1977, and a final Charter was issued in 1980. The Society obtained quit claim deeds from over thirty descendants of the original donor of land for the school, thus giving the Society ownership of the land and building. There was a dedication to the Scott family at the annual meeting in August 1978. Preservation of the building continued, and it was placed on the NY State and National Register of Historic Places in 1997.
The objectives of the Society, as listed in the Charter from the State Education Department are:
The Glen Haven School and Library is the result of a unique partnership of local residents and summer visitors to the once famous Glen Haven Spa and Water Cure around the south end of Skaneateles Lake... read more about our history
All content is copyrighted by the Glen Haven Historical Society, except as noted otherwise.